Approve documents
In this article:
Learn how to complete an Approve task for a document in Logiqc.
You have been assigned a task to approve a document either because a new document has been added or an existing document has been reviewed and sent to you as the Document owner.
Review the Action history for comments about what's been done to date. Then choose a task option to approve the document or assign further work to be done.
You have been assigned a task to approve a document either because a new document has been added or an existing document has been reviewed and sent to you as the Document owner.
Q: What permissions do I need to approve a document?
A: You need the Approve documents permission. The minimum licence type required is Approve.
Q: What if the document needs more work before I can approve it?
A: Select Delegate further review to define and delegate the tasks relating to the document before approving it.
Before you start
Check the following:
- You have an Approve task assigned to you in Logiqc.
- You have the Approve documents permission (minimum licence type required: Approve).
- You have reviewed the Action history for comments about what's been done to date.
Action history
This component displays the commentary by the assigned officers at each stage of the workflow.

The action history shows the commentary at each stage of the workflow.
Task management
This component displays the two options you have at the approval stage of the workflow.

Your two options at the approval stage of the workflow.
Delegate further review
- Task instructions: provide instructions for the review. Prior to approving the document, you can use the workflow to delegate a further review task. For example, if you wanted to ensure the content of the document is consistent with current legislation you might send it back for a final check with the following instructions: 'Ensure the privacy policy is consistent with recent changes to the privacy legislation.'
- Assign to: select the user responsible for carrying out the task. Select Assign to me to assign the task to yourself.
- Task due date: select the date the task is to be completed by.
- Discard draft and retain published version (optional): this provides you with the option to reject the proposed new version, 'discard draft', and retain the 'published version' on the Documents register. Alternatively, you can Add new version (optional): this provides you with the option to add a new draft version. You will have the option to download the current published version or the proposed new version, revise the document and upload a new draft version of the document.
Approve the document
- Next review date: this is the proposed date the document will be reviewed again in the future, which can be changed.
- Additional Comments (optional): use this field to add any additional comments relating to the document. These comments will appear in the Action history and will therefore be visible when the document is next reviewed.
- Discard draft and retain published version (optional): this provides you with the option to reject the proposed new version, 'discard draft', and retain the 'published version' on the Documents register. Alternatively, you can Add new version (optional): this provides you with the option to add a new draft version. You will have the option to download the current published version or the proposed new version, revise the document and upload a new draft version of the document.
View document
In this component you can preview the published version of the document and any draft versions in the workflow. A brief overview of document management details is also provided.
Select the Email link button to send a link to the page to another user via email. Recipients will require a Logiqc user account to access the document.

Preview the published and draft versions from the View document component.
Submit
The green Submit button will save your changes and progress the item to the next stage of the workflow. The button label, however, will change depending on certain conditions to make it quicker to complete tasks.
Moves the document to the Archived tab on the Document register and terminates future workflows.
Saves your changes and progresses the item to the next stage of the workflow. The label changes depending on certain conditions.
Archive: the Archive option will move the document to the Archived tab on the Document register and terminate future workflows.
Submit/Next: Saves your changes and applies the option selected in Task management: delegates further review or approves the document.
Create a related item: select the appropriate register to create a related/linked item. Upon submitting, a new item will be generated in the chosen register. The platform will then display a link connecting the two items in the System event history.
System event history
The System event history is a chronological record maintained by the system detailing entries and changes made to the page including links to any related items created by users.
Click the + control on the right to expand the line item to see more information.

The system event history records entries and changes made to the page.
What happens next
The document is approved
Approving a new document or replacement version publishes it. Approving an unchanged document after review returns it to Approved until the next review. When a replacement version is published, the previous version is archived.
The next review is scheduled
When the next review date is reached, the document returns to the Manage stage and the Document manager is notified.
To keep going, see: